
Best location for a Anytime Fitness in Sydney
6 neighbourhoods ranked for gym/fitness center sites on footfall, competition, rent and business-type fit.
Brand location map
Best zones to open a Anytime Fitness in Sydney
Compare neighbourhood fit for this business format. Published brand costs remain separate from local estimates.
Direct answer
Last reviewed: 2026-09-01
Gym/Fitness Center · Sydney — key figures
- Average investment
- €250,000 - €650,000
- Commercial rent
- $25-150/sqm
- Local competition index
- 58/100
- Break-even
- 28-48 months
Source: WhereToOpen.ai location intelligence · 6 mapped neighbourhoods · 2026-09-01. Figures are modelled planning estimates, not audited financials.
Published Anytime Fitness costs
Initial investment
$397,537–$973,142
Franchise / licence fee
$42,500
Verified break-even
Not publicly disclosed
Official · United States · verified 2026-09-22. Values below are a separate local model.
Source: Anytime Fitness Franchise →Evidence and limitations
Confidence: 87%- Observed data
- 6 mapped neighbourhoods, local competition, rent and location evidence.
- Published data
- Anytime Fitness Franchise: Official cost information for United States.
- Modelled data
- Brand Location Score, local ROI scenario and payback estimate. These are not brand disclosures or guarantees.
Not available: Anytime Fitness has not publicly disclosed verified break-even timing.
Brand-specific score: 78% category/location evidence plus operating-format signals for footfall, catchment, transit, delivery and parking. Confidence reflects input completeness.
Opening investment
€250,000 - €650,000
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Annual ROI
24-47%
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Payback
26-46 months
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Rent risk
Moderate
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Top areas for a Anytime Fitness in Sydney
- 1
Double Bay
Residential catchment, strong fit for this business type
Rent: A$65-110
8588% confidence
- 2
Marrickville
Low competition, rising area
Rent: A$25-40
8088% confidence
- 3
Bondi
Residential catchment, high footfall, crowded market
Rent: A$55-90
7088% confidence
- 4
Newtown
High footfall
Rent: A$35-55
7088% confidence
- 5
CBD
High footfall, crowded market
Rent: A$80-150
6188% confidence
- 6
Surry Hills
High footfall, crowded market
Rent: A$50-85
6088% confidence
Brand-specific score: 78% category/location evidence plus operating-format signals for footfall, catchment, transit, delivery and parking. Confidence reflects input completeness. Last reviewed 2026-09-01. Model confidence: 87%. The local ROI and payback below are modelled estimates, not Anytime Fitness disclosures or guarantees.
Anytime Fitness in Sydney: frequently asked answers
Where is the best location for a Anytime Fitness in Sydney?
Double Bay scores 85/100 for gym/fitness center locations in Sydney, ahead of Marrickville (80/100) and Bondi (70/100). Scores rank footfall, competition, rent and business-type fit across 6 mapped neighbourhoods.
Which areas of Sydney rank highest for a fitness?
Double Bay (85/100), Marrickville (80/100), Bondi (70/100). Ranking last reviewed 2026-09-01 by WhereToOpen.ai.
How much does it cost to open a fitness in Sydney?
Anytime Fitness's sourced investment is $397,537–$973,142 for United States. A local gym/fitness center category benchmark runs €250,000 - €650,000, with commercial rent around $25-150/sqm. These figures have different scopes and are shown separately.
How long does a fitness in Sydney take to break even?
Anytime Fitness does not publicly disclose a verified break-even period. The WhereToOpen.ai local scenario is 26-46 months, with modelled annual ROI of 24-47%. This is a model, not a brand claim or guarantee.
How competitive is Sydney for this category?
The local competition index is 58/100 averaged over 6 mapped neighbourhoods (higher means more crowded).
Which area of Sydney should a Anytime Fitness franchisee avoid?
Surry Hills scores lowest at 60/100 for this category: high footfall, crowded market.
From research to decision
Check the exact area before you invest.
Compare neighbourhoods on the free map, then unlock the full location report when you need address-level evidence.
The opportunity map is free. The full location report costs €99.