
Where to open a Costa Coffee franchise
27 cities ranked for coffee shop / specialty café locations, using real footfall, competition and rent data.
About Costa Coffee
Coffee chain with franchise and self-serve formats, common in transport hubs and retail parks.
Source: Franchise Direct UK →Reference market: Market-specific terms. Brand contract terms vary by country.
Published brand costs
Original currency and reference market are preserved.
Initial investment
£250,000–£800,000
Franchise / licence fee
Not publicly disclosed
Verified break-even
Not publicly disclosed
Third-party · United Kingdom / international formats · verified 2026-09-22. Directory range, not a current Costa disclosure. Individual UK franchising availability is limited; confirm directly with Costa.
Local WhereToOpen.ai scenario
Estimated investment
€65,000 - €180,000
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Modelled category ROI
35-55%
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Estimated payback
12-24 months
WhereToOpen.ai estimate
Brand Location Score
81/100
Cities with sufficient data
27
Data status
Declared estimates
Best cities and areas
| City | Best area | Score | ROI estimate | Payback | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seoul | Itaewon | 98/100 | 39-59% | 8-20 mo | 88% |
| Berlin | Neukölln | 95/100 | 39-59% | 8-20 mo | 88% |
| Sydney | Newtown | 94/100 | 38-58% | 8-20 mo | 88% |
| Tokyo | Asakusa | 94/100 | 38-58% | 8-20 mo | 88% |
| Barcelona | Gràcia | 90/100 | 38-58% | 9-21 mo | 88% |
| New York | Lower East Side | 90/100 | 38-58% | 9-21 mo | 88% |
| Turin | San Salvario | 90/100 | 39-59% | 9-21 mo | 88% |
| Rome | Monti | 89/100 | 37-57% | 9-21 mo | 88% |
| Singapore | Holland Village | 87/100 | 38-58% | 9-21 mo | 88% |
| Amsterdam | Jordaan | 85/100 | 37-57% | 10-22 mo | 88% |
| Dubai | Jumeirah | 85/100 | 38-58% | 10-22 mo | 88% |
| London | Notting Hill | 78/100 | 36-56% | 10-22 mo | 88% |
| Los Angeles | Downtown LA | 77/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Madrid | AZCA/Castellana | 77/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Milan | Isola | 77/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 88% |
| Paris | La Défense | 77/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Toronto | Financial District | 77/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Hong Kong | Tsim Sha Tsui | 76/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 88% |
| Lisbon | Bairro Alto | 76/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 88% |
| Bologna | University | 73/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Florence | San Lorenzo | 73/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Genoa | Boccadasse | 73/100 | 37-57% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Naples | Spanish Quarters | 73/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Palermo | Ballarò | 73/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Venice | Murano | 73/100 | 35-55% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Verona | Fair District | 73/100 | 36-56% | 11-23 mo | 72% |
| Chicago | Pilsen | 69/100 | 35-55% | 12-24 mo | 72% |
Published brand costs retain their original market and currency. Local ROI and payback are separate WhereToOpen.ai modelled scenarios based on category, rent, competition and Brand Location Score; they are not earnings guarantees. Last reviewed 2026-09-22. Brand cost source: Franchise Direct UK; local rankings: WhereToOpen.ai location dataset.